Could you please explain me the difference?

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in windows programming.Since I am self learning with a book which I have purchased recently so I cannot find a solution to this silly doubt.Here is my doubt,
I am using Visual Studio 2015 as per the suggestion of an expert in this forum for building Win32 applications.There are two modes for creating a win32 application.
One is console and the other is windows. I know about console , But
a window, message box, etc., can be created in both console and windows mode so what is the difference between them.

Does it make any difference when we create a windows application on console?

Thank you in advance
Last edited on
A console application will spawn a console. A windows application doesn't. Also, there's a byte in the PE header that's different that defines whether the application is a console app or a windows application. This is contained in the PE NT specific field within the PE header. 0x2 for GUI, 0x3 for console. There's an image here I found on Google (you can also use a hex editor to view this yourself): https://www.simple-talk.com/blogbits/simon.cooper/PE%20Headers%20annotated.png

But, basically a console app doesn't have a user interface. A windows app does.
Last edited on
I don't know about Visual Studio 2015 (that's 7 years younger than the version I use), but when a GUI app is specified within the IDE it automatically adds various linker settings to the compiler command line strings that it feeds to the compiler/linker. So if you set up your projects as console apps and start getting 'unresolved external' linker errors when you call GDI or user functions, you'll know why.

Also, a console is actually a GUI app. An unusual one with unusual properties to bw sure, but a GUI app nontheless.

Further, from a GUI app that doesn't have a console associated with the GUI process in any way, you can create one very easily with the Api function AllocConsole().
Last edited on