Porting Windows C++ App to Mac

closed account (D49iE3v7)
Hello,
I would like to begin programming with C++ and have a project already made. The thing is I'm just beginning with C++ and don't know what to do with the current C++ app. It was made for Windows originally, and I'm trying to make it Mac-compatible. What do I need to do in order to do that?

Thanks,
Mason

P.S. Heads up, I'm an amateur with this stuff so please be nice :)
Last edited on
If it is just plain-vanilla C++ then the only thing you have to watch out for is file and directory names.

If it is a Windows GUI program, then you might have your work cut out for you.
This is just a Windows GUI program. What steps do I need to take in order for it to be Mac-compatible?

Thanks for help,
Mason
Rewrite it.

Barring that, you can use Wine or install Windows on your Mac. Sorry.

[edit] If you used some sort of GUI library, like FLTK or GTK+ or the like, you can probably get away with just recompiling and fixing the few errors that pop up. But I can't be certain on what will happen.
Last edited on
OK, first off, this application was already written. I'm just trying to make it work on Mac OS X. Are you saying I should do something in Windows to make it work on a Mac? Would compiling all of the resource files into a ".app" file work? If I only knew how to do that......

Thanks again,
Mason
Last edited on
No, I'm saying it is incompatible with a Mac (both the source code and the executable file). It only works on Windows.

The latest Macs use Intel hardware, so you can install the Windows operating system on your Mac, then run windows (and hence, windows programs) just fine.

Or, you can use Wine, which is a Windows emulator, which does pretty good in many cases. The Wine website has an extensive list of applications that it can handle.

Sorry.
Last edited on