Changing cursor during runtime

Hello,
I would like to change the mouse cursor whenever the user starts the program
I have tried this and it worked except I can only restore the original once from control panel after the program ends.

const char * s = "C:\\Users\\user\\Desktop\\PT_Project\\cur1.ani";
	HCURSOR Cursor = LoadCursorFromFile(s);
	SetSystemCursor(Cursor,32512);

and It's my first time programming with Windows library.. so I would be grateful if anyone offers me a good starting spot to learn more about it.
Last edited on
closed account (E0p9LyTq)
You don't want to use SetSystemCursor() to change cursors for your program, you want to use SetCursor().

Setting the Cursor Image (Windows) - msdn.microsoft.com
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/gg153552(v=vs.85).aspx

Being this is your first time programming for Windows you might want to look at this:

Learn to Program for Windows in C++ - msdn.microsoft.com
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ff381399(v=vs.85).aspx

Windows programming is a LOT to learn. :)
I still tried to handle WM_SETCURSOR, but I don't know how to exactly how to do so. should there be an Exception handling procedure here? I have just learned that at my programming course and I am not sure if I can implement something this complicated sadly, is there any other way ?

case WM_SETCURSOR:
        if (LOWORD(lParam) == HTCLIENT)
        {
            SetCursor(hCursor);
            return TRUE;
        }
        break;

and this should be the catch right?

and I think I will just go over the basics with windows programming, I don't think getting into it that much would be helpful to me in the long run.
anyways thanks :D
ahmedkhalifa wrote:
I would like to change the mouse cursor whenever the user starts the program

You can set your app's cursor in WinMain() using the WNDCLASS/WNDCLASSEX structure you supply to RegisterClass()/RegisterClassEx().