Converting plain C++ to Windows COM

I'm new to Microsoft's way of doing things since I'm a Linux person so apologies if this is a stupid question. I've done a search but didn't see anything that addressed this. I've been tasked with rewriting plain C++ code to Windows COM. Is there an easy way to convert plain C++ to Windows COM other than rewriting the code as some sort of ATL object using Visual Studio? From prelim reading, the latter may be the way of least resistance without implementing IUnknown and setting the Connection Points by hand. Any advice would be much appreciated.
I've been tasked with rewriting plain C++ code to Windows COM.

What exactly do you mean? COM is an interface technology, so you can't just convert plain C++ to COM.
Sorry for wrong terminology/unclear explanation. I have some source files which implement various classes and one main class that's written in pure C++. Only the C++ devs use them and TPTB would like to make it so other devs use them so COM was determined to be the way to go. Easiest thing I can see from my readings is to throw everything into an ATL project and make a DLL. So mainly looking for suggestions on the easiest way to make the code COM compliant.
Maybe of these helps:
create COM with no ATL, just C++

https://www.codeproject.com/Articles/338268/COM-in-C

How to create/use COM components in plain C, without MFC, ATL, WTL, or any other framework.

https://www.codeproject.com/Articles/13601/COM-in-plain-C
Easiest thing I can see from my readings is to throw everything into an ATL project and make a DLL.
That depends on what you have.

COM just defines interfaces between system components. So you shouldn't expect to wrap all your classes with a COM interface, just those at the system boundaries.

You should be aware that COM pushes memory management unto the user. This is managed with ATL, but it's not perfect. You can get leaks that are neigh impossible to fix. In my view, you should only use it if you have to.