Event sink necessary for ATL Connection Points?

I'm new to COM/ATL and there are different tutorials on what to do when implementing connection points. Is it necessary to create an event sink? Some tutorials have the Fire method (created by ATL wizard) called from within a COM class method when some condition is met and some implement a new COM class that acts as an event sink (ATL Internals book). Would an instance of the COM object act as a sink unto itself? Sorry for dumb questions.

Is it necessary to create an event sink?

Yes, if you wish to be notified of events occurring in the COM object. Realize that in GUI apps all notifications from controls back to a client\host app are a function pointer setup. That's what a Window Procedure is in a standard Windows GUI app. If a control is built according to the COM standard, its still a similiar function pointer call back to the client, but the terminology and setup is somewhat different.

Would an instance of the COM object act as a sink unto itself?

It could be implemented but it would be dumb to do I think. The COM object has access to everything going on within itself. If its a visual control, for instance, it would have an internal Window Procedure where it would have access to all user or other generated actions. Depending on the nature of the object and what it does and reacts to, it would make calls back to the event sink in the client to notify it of what's going on that may be of interest to the client.