Using Libcurl in C++ program

Hi! Hope you're having a good day. I'm very new to C++ programming - and programming in general - and I wanted to ask a quick question!

I am currently working on a project that uses a web API (IEX) to get stock market data. In order to get the data, I am trying to download and use libcurl in my C++ program. However, unlike python where I can just use pip to download a third-party library, I guess you have to download and build libraries for C++ yourself? I am currently running Windows 10 64 bit and I use mingw to compile my programs on the command line. So I have some questions:

1.) There are a million download options on the curl website. Should I download the binary or should I download the source code and build it?

2.) The steps I have taken so far: I downloaded the zip file under "Source Archivess" at https://curl.haxx.se/download.html. I then unzipped it where I wanted it. Then I went to the root directory, and I used the command "mingw32-make mingw32". This compiled. I then compiled my C++ program using "g++ -Ipath/to/include -Ipath/to/lib -o program.cpp program -lcurl", but I get the error:undefined reference to `_imp__curl_easy_cleanup'. This means that the library isn't getting linked, right? There is a libcurl.dll and libcurl.a in path/to/curl/lib - am I supposed to move that to the directory with my working program? When I move the .dll file to my working directory and use -lcurldll instead of -lcurl, it compiles, but when I try to run my executable this pops up: Error from cURL: Unsupported protocol.