Remote Frame Buffer protocol Programming

I do need clarification, I do want to understand something about RFB (VNC) protocols. I am writing a project to implement VNC and its protocols hence a rough google search made me to understand i have to get the screenshot and save as .bmp (I have done that and that works perfectly fine) and later on i can then get the width , height and the pixels programmatically and send via Winsock / TCP (Screen resolution to be very precise)

I know how to send strings via Winsock (Not much of an issue, as there are Tons and tons of examples on here) Now i want to send something like the width, height and pixels (screen Dimensions and pixels) so that i can do screen sharing and show on my MFC Application PictureBox

i am new to something like this, hence i wanted to know if I would do something like sprintf() to have the three values together? or how do i send the three values together so that the client (Viewer) can pick up and display from there.
if I would do something like sprintf() to have the three values together?
Yes, it is a rather good idea to turn the values into string and send that string. When you receive the string you need however make sure that it is complete.

You can do this with streams as well. For instance using std::stringstream:

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/sstream/stringstream/?kw=stringstream
Means one of the ways i would also like to send this BITMAPINFOHEADER structure is to cast as a string, like if this for instance :

pbmi->bmiHeader.biSize = sizeof(BITMAPINFOHEADER);
	pbmi->bmiHeader.biWidth = bmp.bmWidth;
	pbmi->bmiHeader.biHeight = bmp.bmHeight;
	pbmi->bmiHeader.biPlanes = bmp.bmPlanes;
	pbmi->bmiHeader.biBitCount = bmp.bmBitsPixel;

Then i have to send in this manner

send(new_socket, (char*)bmiHeader, messagelen, 0);

Since all others are actually saved inside the structure, not so?
Last edited on
@m0mathur,