Please help a total newb

hi guys,

just picked up a book called c++ for absolute beginners by mark lee

like it so far...but im battling with some things.

his examples are written for ms visual c++ studio 2008 and im using 2010

when i copy and try to run i get errors...
why is this happening...is there a huge difference between 08 and 2010?

whats the best thing to do? get a book for 2010 or down grade to 08?
or can this be addressed?

below are the errors i get...

please help...im anctious to get started...

1>------ Build started: Project: hello world, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1> helloworld.cpp
1>c:\users\user\documents\visual studio 2010\projects\hello world\hello world\helloworld.cpp(2): warning C4067: unexpected tokens following preprocessor directive - expected a newline
1>c:\users\user\documents\visual studio 2010\projects\hello world\hello world\helloworld.cpp(2): warning C4627: '#include <iostream>': skipped when looking for precompiled header use
1> Add directive to 'StdAfx.h' or rebuild precompiled header
1>c:\users\user\documents\visual studio 2010\projects\hello world\hello world\helloworld.cpp(10): fatal error C1010: unexpected end of file while looking for precompiled header. Did you forget to add '#include "StdAfx.h"' to your source?
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

If you post your full helloworld.cpp source code we can easily fix this for you.
Could you please paste your code?
no prob guys...here it is:

//1.1 – Hello World – Mark Lee
#include <iostream>
int main( void )
{
using std::cout;
cout << "Hello World!\n";
return 0;
}

thanks for replying
In VS2008 I always had to press <ENTER> after the last brace or the compiler wouldn't recognize that line.

Moreover, you need to wipe out that project and start a new one, only this time make sure you create an EMPTY project.

The others here can maybe help you with other stuff.
closed account (zb0S216C)