Decimal Separator Locales

Hey guys,

I'm new to the forum but I searched for this question and didn't find.

I have an application that is used around the world. It uses a MYSQL database in some countries and Oracle in others. The front end is written in C++; I've used resource files for culture conversions in ASP.NET but I'm very very new to C++ and I'm not seeing a way to do that in this language. So I'm hoping someone can help me out with this one.

Suppose I have a number in the database, say, 0.05. When it is displayed on the form in say Belgium it needs to be displayed as "0,05". That part has been taken care of by someone else in the past. But now I've been tasked with going back the other way. So taking the value "0,-5" from a TextBox and parsing it into a double variable to send to the back end database.

Obviously the problem here is that "0,05" can't be parsed because it's not a valid number. Now, this application is massive, and very very complicated. So I need a way to convert numbers with "," for the decimal separator and say " " for the thousands separator and parse it into a double. But I need something that is going to work for the entire application without having to recode everything that parses a number; that would literally take months in this application.

Just for example; here's a sample of the code.

dDoubleValue = atof("0,05");

Hope you guess can help me out here; like I said I'm new to C++ and I'm stumped.

Shane
I'm not very good when it comes to using C style strings (or much of C for that matter) but I put this together to handle your situation.
#include <cstdlib>
#include <cstring>
#include <cstdio>

char *ToFloatString(const char myString[]);

int main() {
   // String to be used for testing
   char testString[] = "0,05";
   // Display Results
   printf("Function Converted String: %.2f", atof(ToFloatString(testString)));
   printf("\natof Converted String: %.2f", atof(testString));
   printf("\nOriginal string: %s", testString);