Monitoring flow of program in Visual C++

Hello CppGurus,
I am wondering if there is any program out there that could map out the flow of program in Visual C++ 6.0.

I do modify MRI sequence code written by Siemens and only Visual C++ 6.0 is supported. So, I am forced to use this older version. Also, their codes lack proper documentations.

Typically, a sequence code has usually 5-10 files (headers and sources). There are four main functions: initialization, preparation, check, run. So, flow among these codes is obvious. However, these function calls several other functions (say few hundereds) from within the project and libraries and it’s extremely tough to figure out the flow by using pen and paper.

As a MRI physicist, I just have to change various parts of code to accomplish my task. However, the lack of proper documentation makes it a guess work. Also, given that my C++ experience is at intermediate level, it takes me lots of hard work to figure out where I should make the change.

I am looking some free/ not-so-expensive tools that are compatible with Visual C++ 6.0 and later versions. Though I would prefer free tools, I am okay with buying provided it should not cost me more than a couple of hundred euros (~200-300).

What am I trying to do:
1) Find out the flow of program.
2) I should be able to monitor how the value of a particular variable changes during runtime. For instance, my sequence development would be a lot faster if I could have information like:
The value of variable A was changed at “line no 1000 of code-X”, “line 502 of code-Y” and “line no 10 of code-Z”.

Thanks in advance,
Dushyant
Last edited on
You can use the debugger of Visual Studio for doing this -- such a code project would certainly be extremely difficult to manage without using a debugger.