Programming for Games

Hello everyone, I am a second year student at Atlantic University. I am studying video game animation and design.

Microsoft has a competition here in PR in which you design a game for a windows phone, Now it seems as if I will have to be the one to program it. I have only just begun learning about programming so this would be quite the challenge to undertake. Our game is meant to be a side scroller with 3D models. I am not really sure how to even begin working on this. I know it is a lot to ask but if anyone could show me at least the basics for creating games I would greatly appreciate it. And if by chance you know of any good tutorials please do let me know.

Thank you all in advanced
I have no personal experience with the windows phone platform, however, one of the first things to determine in your case would probably be whether you'll be developping using 2D or 3D -- as the overall structure of a 2D app/game will somewhat differ from a 3D one in terms of loading models, moving them, checking for collisions etc. A side-scroller with actual 3D models would involve that you export your models from your 3D modeling software and then re-import them, light them and then have them perform their animation clips while moving in two axes of movement (say, the X and Y axes). If you did a 2D side-scroller, you could pre-render your 3D models' animations and import them in your app/game as images that contain the frames of the animation (often referred to as a spritesheet), much like traditional 2D animation flipbooks. The first approach would involve using an existing model loader library for loading your chosen 3D model file-type, or writing a set of 3D model loading functions on your own. The second involves loading prerendered image files -- like PNG for instance.