Going over the Windows Programming Code...

Pages: 123
Hi, I am a beginner C++ programmer. I know only as much in C++ than any beginner would -- not very much. I am trying to learn more to create my own program so, using the given Windows Application template from Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 C++, I was going over the code. The first line of code is HINSTANCE hInst // current instance -- what does HINSTANCE hInst do? How does it help/work in the program?

Thanks --
Most if not all the variables used in Windows programming that are prefixed with an 'h' symbol are 'HANDLES'. These are essentially virtual memory pointers (sometimes called opaque pointers) that are needed many times for use as arguements to Windows Api functions. I haven't looked at your example, but the hInstance variable of which you are speaking is likely used in WinMain() to initialize the WNDCLASSEX::hInstance member of the WNDCLASSEX struct. The number will be meaningless to you, but highly meaningful to the operating system itself in identifying the location in virtual memory of the running instance. It is also needed in CreateWindowEx() calls. Also, it can be obtained in a number of ways in addition to retrieval from the WinMain() parameter list, for example, GetModuleHandle().

You are entering a strange new world, and at least for awhile, are going to have to accept some of these things 'in good faith'.
Last edited on
I used to be a web developer working in some of the languages such as HTML, CSS and a little bit of Javascript before devoting some of my time to C++, so I think I've entered that 'strange new world' a little while ago ") ... Anywho, those languages were easy compared to C++ programming. It just takes a lot of learning and practice, but I know I'll get there.