Adjusting to a new level

Pages: 123
Hi everyone,

I'm new here, I'm Arkie by the way, a 1st year college student taking up Information Technology shifting from Hotel and Restaurant Management.

I'm new at this course because I've done my BSHRM course for a year and now I have difficulties adjusting my knowledge about computer subjects.

My professor gave me a take home quiz which is all about C++ programming, I'm new at this subject which why I need somebody's help.

The problem should be like this:

Create a structure named Carpet that has two public data members: lengthInFeet and widthInFeet. Write a main() function that instantiates a Carpet object and assigns values to its fileds. Pass the object to a function named Area() that calculates the carpet area in square feet and displays the results. Save the file as Carpet.cpp

I asked my professor some help but he gave me a hint only, he says I will use STRUCT and FUNCTION.
The problem statement is so clear that it almost gives you the answer. What is it you need help with?

A structure is basically a kind of data. So declaration looks like this:

struct structureName
{typeOfData nameOfVariable;};

/*for example*/

struct Carpet
{
float lengthInFeet, widthInFeet;
};

You make a global declaration of this structure (for example somwhere efore main function).
You have access to component variables of this structure by using dot.

Somewhere in main function:

Carpet myCarpet;
myCarpet.lengthInFeet=5.62;
myCarpet.widthInFeet=2.21;

It's just the structure. Making a function which calculate area of this carpet shouldn't be a problem.
Sigh.
taking up Information Technology shifting from Hotel and Restaurant Management
Wow. Just wow. I think that's the most bizarre career change I've ever heard, except maybe for that man who was an engineer for like twenty years and then decided to become a doctor when he was sixty.
Do you like Do you like Air Jordan Shoes? it includes Air Jordan Shoes,Nike Air Max Shoes;