Extracting one type of data from a file

Hello!
I'm studying C++ and am currently learning how to get information to and from files with my program. I've learned how to do it with one type of data at a time from my professor and the book we're using, like if there's a file with only char's in it.
The assignment though is to create a file with both char's and int's in it, like so:

My Name

Your Name

etc.

I've found some code online made by others that can take the char's and save it in one variable, then the int's and save it in another.
Problem is that not only did I not 100% understand what I was reading so I didn't just wanna copy-paste it, but I also have no need for the char's in my program - I just need the int's for some calculations.
And this is where I'm stuck; what on earth do I use to extract just the int's from the file?
So far I've been looking at links about c_str and getline.ignore() and such, though I have no real idea how I would apply them or how it would actually work even if I did.

I do realize I could just go ahead and get all of it, then try to sort the int's in to a vector and use that and leave the char's where they are, never to be used, since my program is very small and won't take up a lot of space either way.
I do however plan to work as a programmer in the future, so knowing how to do it "right" or more efficiently from the beginning would be nice.

Thank you in advance!
Last edited on
Tomoecchi wrote:
what on earth do I use to extract just the int's from the file?

#include <iostream>
#include <sstream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

istringstream fileData( "My Name\n"
                        "10\n"
                        "\n"
                        "Your Name\n"
                        "35\n" );

int main()
{
   int data;
   string dummy;
   while ( getline( fileData >> ws, dummy ) && fileData >> data ) cout << data << '\n';
}

If you want to store your data then you can do
#include <iostream>
#include <sstream>