Problem with COMPILER version !!

Hello everyone,
Hope all are doing good. I'm a beginner One of my reference code found in 1977 journal was written with PL/I language. In order to understand the particular program, PL/I source code was translated into C++ based on this following link.
http://www.mpsinc.com/pl1c.html
Here attached the code below.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WkOb7hmp1Fk6pD4mTzi4W-2WWygrGHMj/view?usp=sharing
When I tried to compile the code, I get too many errors almost in each line. ERROR:'cin' 'cout' doesn't name a type.
I hope there is no problem with the code, there should be a problem with compiler version if I'm not wrong.
Kindly someone guide me here. Thank you all
add the line
using namespace std;
to the top of the file after includes where main() is located.
this is bad practice, but the quickest way to fix older code.

better, is to add a statement for each thing you use:
using std::cin
using std::cout

but there may be too many things to make that useful when coming into old projects.

your compiler is correct. the code is using an older version of C++ where having std::everything or using statements to avoid that was not required.
Last edited on
Hello,
Thank you for your response. I tried whatever you said, but nothing works.
When I try fixing "std::cin" the compiler says,
error: 'cin' in namespace 'std' does not name a type.

Could you please tell me how to proceed further.
Thank you again for your time ^^
The code is not a valid C++ program unfortunately. It uses variables that have not been declared. It doesn't close the class definition. A lot of the code would have to be put inside a function (but would still not be entirely valid).

Things like

cin >> PC,PH,PX,PN,PS);
is simply not correct syntax.

It should look more like

cin >> PC >> PH >> PX >> PN >> PS;
but for that to work the variables would have to be declare first.

This code doesn't make sense to me

for(i_tmp = 0; i_tmp <= (26][5); i_tmp++){