I need advice

Pages: 12
I am new to programming and I need advice on what computer would be good and I am 13 so i have a budget of $1500. Also I would like advice on what language to learn first and how to go about learning it.
Last edited on
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
a) this belongs in the lounge just fyi
b) Welcome!
c) if you dont know anything about programming... i recommend learning basic html. it teaches some basic concepts and imo its good to know html anyways. after that, i recommend c, then c++ (c will let you appreciate c++ a lot more).
d) i cant help you with the laptop :P mine is only 400
Python is also a good language to learn

A beginner's python tutorial which I used when first learning it is located on here http://www.codecademy.com/tracks/python

Teaches you everything from python syntax to object oriented programming

E:
If you are just interested in learning programming any $300 laptop will work just fine (If you can find one with linux pre-installed even better). If you want to go for high end programming laptop, get a macbook. You will notice that I am leaning towards unix os and that is because they are geared towards programmers unlike windows which is more of a general use os. Macs have best of both worlds

If you already have a laptop, you can partition your hard drive an dual boot linux/window
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/lounge/108096/
Last edited on
oh yeah forgot about python. great language, just one thing you need to know before using it, its syntax isnt common. its similar (in how its structured) to languages like ruby and pascal, but the way most languages are laid out is similar to c
> i recommend learning basic html.
I think he mean a programming language
i understand that, but i feel like its a good thing to learn. it teaches the concept of writing (in this case extremely) basic code, getting an output, and manipulating data
You're 13 so you have a budget of $1500!?! Why don't you just pay someone to write code for you? 8^D