cin >> fat;
cin >> protein;

totalCalories = (carbs * 4) + (fat * 9) + (protein * 4);

proteinEnergy = protein / (fat + carbs);

cout << fixed << setprecision(2);

totalCalories << " " << proteinEnergy << endl;

return 0;

}

// the set precision is not giving me the correct output im brand new to c++ and it gave me the right answer on another question but now it isn't working im wondering what im doing wrong
All your variables are of type int, so you will get an integer division truncation (and hence a mathematical error) on the line where you calculate proteinEnergy, your "fixed" and "setprecision" won't have any effect on ints, and you appear to have copy-paste errors on your output line.

Please use code tags.
Ok thank you im brand new to this so this helps a lot
Hello frueda75,

PLEASE ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS (the <> formatting button), to the right of this box, when posting code.

Along with the proper indenting it makes it easier to read your code and also easier to respond to your post.

http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/jEywvCM9/
http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/z13hAqkS/

Hint: You can edit your post, highlight your code and press the <> formatting button. This will not automatically indent your code. That part is up to you.

You can use the preview button at the bottom to see how it looks.

I found the second link to be the most help.

To state what lastchance so nicely stated.

"setprecision" only works on floating point variables of "double" or "float" to specify how many decimal placed will be printed by the "cout" statement.

The line: cout << fixed << setprecision(2); Only need to be done once and I usually do this after I define the variables, but this is not required. Putting this line just before the output line that needs it works just fine.

A tip for the future. When you start working files you will need a line like:
outFile << fixed << setprecision(2); because this is a different stream.