Getting started with game programming?

Pages: 12
I'm 16 and I been programming c++ for 6 month now.
I Know all about console Programming and have finished my graduation Project.
I wanna end up making my own 3d engine (and editor) but I don't know where to start.

I started learning some OpenGl with Freeglut and Glew but I read that its not that good for gaming. ( if you think that i should keep doing that please give me some good book/site to learn)

so where should I start? i'm really motivated I just don't know where I can find all the informations.
Last edited on
First off, after 6 months you know very little about C++ and you cannot possibly know everything about "console programming" (Could you please define that).

AFAIK OpenGL would probably be one of the better things to learn when it comes to 3d rendering and all things pertaining to it.
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
opengl is good for gaming. and no one knows everything about c++. and there is no way you know everything about making console programs
i read Beginning C++ Game Programming.
and seen thenewbostons videos about c++
i probably dont know enouge.
but i just dont know where to go from here ?
Last edited on
closed account (3qX21hU5)
In my opinion I wouldn't start out by making a Game Engine (and Editor) as your first game development project. That is if you mean game engine like I think you mean, as in a Engine that is capable of developing multiple games, or that helps speed up the production of games.

Mainly because you wouldn't have any idea what should go into it since you haven't built a game before (Assuming here). I post this article all the time but I would recommend checking it out http://scientificninja.com/blog/write-games-not-engines