How to become a better programmer?

I was wondering if anyone can give me (a CS major in college) some advice on how to improve my programming abilities. I know for a fact that as a programmer/software engineer, i must become a better problem solver and become more familiar with different programming languages, but i need some advice on doing just that.

any advice will be appreciated

(as of right now, i am trying to solve some coding challenges on hacker rank, do you think this is a good start?)
As with many other things, the only way to get good at programming is to do it a lot. A university course can teach you new algorithms or techniques, but no one can teach how to program well. At best, one can point at a piece of code and say "this is good programming" or "this is bad programming"

Knowing many programming languages is not critical, IMO. If your experience is diverse among several problem domains you'll likely pick up different languages according to the situation, and you'll also have a wider toolset to approach problems. Just knowing many different programming languages won't do the same.
In other words, good programmers may know several programming languages, but not everyone who knows several programming languages is good.
I always feel pretentious answering stuff like this. I'll give it a shot anyways.

become more familiar with different programming languages

Too many people learn Java then C++ then C#; all of these languages are very roughly the same.
These languages mostly encourage the same kind of procedural and vaguely object-oriented thinking.

This is no good. You will find the most significant and immediate benefit from correctly learning tools which encourage entirely different approaches to problems. To this end, you should strongly prefer to learn the most varied languages you can.