switching from linux to microsoft

Pages: 123
@zapshe
Too many things to take care of. Change that setting, get this library, use that thing..
I used KDE on ArchLinux for many years at work, that's a bleading edge distro where breaking changes are not uncommon; so you have to fix stuff from time to time ...

I have been using BSDs for 20+ years, so KDE (on FreeBSD) whenever a GUI was needed, but yeah; lots of tinkering with Linux software that sometime just never worked.

So when I chose a Linux for home, I went with Kubuntu. It just works. Debian based. Rock solid. No tinkering with stuff. Runs all those Linux only packages... Big bang every few years on major upgrades, but nothing terrible.

I use KDE because it's portable, same reason I used Netscape ... Firefox, actual platform is purpose specific, I never need Windows.
on 'gaming laptops' which have reduced capacity over top desktops

Those days are over now. Unless you're buying a top of the line desktop computer with all the bells and whistles, there's usually a laptop-equivalent.

My laptop is more powerful than many desktop setups my friends have. You only have to wait a few months before GPUs that are in desktops are shoved into a laptop by various companies. I don't even find heat to be an issue. My laptop has a vapor chamber. After about a -0.120 undervolt on the CPU, the laptop runs really cool, even when gaming.

I've never gamed on a VM, but if I'm gaming, I want to crank up the settings. I'd assume a VM would drop performance by too much for a real gamer - especially the added latency for a competitive FPS game.

I never need Windows.

I can't understand this. You can't game without Windows. Windows has too many things dedicated to it to get the equivalent in Linux can often just be a huge pain.