Hello again...

Pages: 1234
Imagine not programming in C++
I use Bash scripts sometimes...and I just started learning Python as well!

Ok, you can kill me now
Hey, nothing wrong with being able to program in all kinds of weird stuff. If you can grok Python and Bash that's pretty cool.

(Your bash skills are probably better than mine. I don't usually have to do much more than modify existing bash scripts, which is a whole lot easier than frobbing test for weird loop conditions all on my own. Of course, for more advanced scripting I tend to just use tclsh... which sadly doesn't come preinstalled on many modern Linuxen any more.)
I can't do anything in Python yet, except print ("Hello world!") and some other really basic stuff. But some of my co-workers use it all the time for moving large folders, and finding stuff, so I figured it could come in handy.

Isn't Bash kind of a prereq on Linux? I don't use Linux, so speaking from absolutely zero experience, but I thought you had to install/write your own applications and do most stuff from a command line until you get some GUI-based apps installed. But then my first computer in college was a brand new (back then) Powerbook, I think it was a 140, it had the weird trackball instead of a trackpad.

Off-topic a bit, but I actually preferred the trackball to the trackpad on my newer Macbook pro. It still works, or it did when I dug it out of my closet last month to see if I still had an old C program on it. It didn't, unfortunately. Oh well.
agentmax wrote:
Isn't Bash kind of a prereq on Linux? I don't use Linux, so speaking from absolutely zero experience, but I thought you had to install/write your own applications and do most stuff from a command line until you get some GUI-based apps installed.