SO turns you into a humorless bot

Yesterday, while waiting at the doctor’s office, I happened to catch a post that went like this:

Can unions in C go on strike, and if so, how can we come to a satisfactory collective agreement?

I am a student in a university known for labor unrest, and I'm learning about unions in C. Knowing about the history around these parts, I want to know if unions in C can go on strike. C lacks an effective collective bargaining system, which in theory should make it more likely for unions to strike. There is no mechanism to mediate disputes between unions and the caller, so disagreements are not easily settled. However, C also allows for the caller to refer to unions by their individual members, and as we know, this is a common union-busting tactic. If the caller chooses to separate unions into their constituent parts, there is no hope of collective solidarity.

Is there any way to prevent union types from striking? I don't want my code being surrounded by picketers.
Asked by 12thOfNever 2022 January 19, 18:39 UTC

It was immediately followed by plenty of downvoting and comments indicating that it was voted to close because it was, fairly, just a joke.

Which is sad, actually, because it could have garnered some good answers. Computer types used to like jokes, and having fun online.

Best comments:

Unions have never struct before.

Wow. Four minutes. <redacted>'s right: we really do hate fun here.

Even one of the closers added the following comment:

Oh it's funny, but SO is known for a complete lack of any sense of humor.

Didn't use to be.

I can easily accept it being closed, though.
But then being immediately deleted — that's a kick in the existential order of things.

SO is killing itself with its own snobby sense of righteousness.

So, so very sad.