Help me prosper!

I hope to become a programmer! mainly in the gaming industry. but, i relise its not as easy as that, so i will get any sofware/ict related job first, and work my way up! But, my question is what do you actually need skills wise to become a games programmer. Math and physics? i am about to make choices at 'a' level and i want to pick the right subjects to get into a university easier doing programming courses. i dont know what to take i am a a/b grade student and i could take most subjects. but i want ask you guys. what do you need!!!
-- many thanks in advance
-- christopher :)
Last edited on
There is no such thing as a "game programmer", unless you plan on either leading a team of programmers or becoming an indie developer. Game programming jobs vary a lot.

In big companies, the following tasks are usually appointed to single jobs.
- Game Engine
- Networking
- Development tools
- Graphics
- Sound
- etc.
All these require different experience and knowledge of fields. One who's working on the Game Engine or Graphics might need to know some math and physics while Networking requires little or no math or physics at all. (Just to give a simple example.)

To become an indie developer, you would have to be proficient in all of these, which can be quite a pain in the ass. If you do pull it off, however, you can make some big money.. especially in this time in which the indie gaming market is prospering as it is.