Are lexers generally ugly?

I'm trying to write a lexer for a language that's a bit like GLSL (I had an idea to write a window system that is controlled entirely by things similar to shader programs which are compiled in the client and then sent as bytecodes to the server to tell it how to render things; I also had an idea to create a windowing system for text displays, so I decided to combine them [I'm crazy]). I've never written a lexer before (not a complex one, anyway), so I don't know how it's going to turn out or what it should look like. Currently, it's basically a for loop and a giant switch, with some other switch statements and for loops embedded in it (it's ugly, but it'll be refactored into lots of functions to make it less ugly once I get to some kind of milestone).

It scans the string character-by-character, then when it sees an interesting character it can either append it to an array or append everything in between that character and an end character to the array (for strings and stuff). Then there's another function which will read the token stream and convert it into bytecode (while checking that the token stream actually makes sense, which I'll do by having a function that takes two tokens as parameters and then decides whether or not they should go next to each other (so, f(INT, INT) returns false, while f(INT, VARIABLE_NAME) returns true [no, I won't really call the function 'f']).

I've looked at some very simple Flex-generated lexers and they were pretty ugly - it was about 2,000 LOC just for something that printed "start" or "stop" depending on which you typed.

I was conscious while writing this that it's probably quite jumbled because I kind of wrote things as I thought of them, and also because sleep deprivation.