Completely new and Struggling

I am completely new to C++. I have done some visual Basic coding before but nothing else. I am trying to write a program that uses pointers, arrays and strings. I am completely lost on the whole pointers and strings things. I have read and reread my text books and referenced all kinds of things but I still do not understand the pointers at all. If loops I love and can write relatively easily but not pointers. The only code I written for this program is the starting. My variables (which I only have one),namespace and things like that.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <istream>

using namespace std;

{
int IP

cout <<"This is the IP Address: ";
IP *198.168.0.0

}

I'm even pretty sire that the pointer that I have in the code is not correct. I do not understand how to write them at all. Please help.
I'm sure that at this point you've figured out that the "*" (asterisk) character has something to do with pointers. There are a couple different contexts in which this character can appear. That means, this character can have different meanings depending on where it's placed in your code.

Here is one context:

This is an integer:
int i = 123;

This is an int-pointer (a pointer that can point to integers):
int* ptr;

The only semantic difference between these two lines of code is the "*" character, which signifies that this variable is a pointer (there is one other difference - the fact that we initialized the integer, but didn't initialize the pointer, but that's not so important right now).

The "*" doesn't have to sit right next to the type either. It can be separated by whitespace. For example, all three of the following lines of code are identical:

int* ptr;

int *ptr;

int * ptr;

Whichever you use is personal preference.

Our pointer "ptr" isn't actually pointing to anything yet. Just like how ints store integers, pointers store addresses to things.