while loop bug

I wrote a program which included a while loop to test the validity of a user-input choice (the "row" int variable), which should be at least 1.

It works as expected, provided the user does input an integer value.

If the user inputs a non-int value greater than 1, this is truncated to an int value and is processed as normal. I am happy for this sort of error to go unnoticed.

The problem is when a non-int value less than 1 is input, eg -0.5
I expected this to trigger the while loop, display the error message, wait for the user to input a new row value and try again.

Instead, the while loop is triggered, but the program does not wait for another value, instead going in an infinite loop printing the error message each time.

Can anyone explain in simple terms why it is doing this, and is there a non-highly technical fix for this weakness? (I am just a beginner!)

// while issue test .cc
//
// testing problems with while loop
//
// Author: RJB
// Date: 17th Feb 2012
// Platform: Dev-C++, Windows XP

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main ()
{
   int row; // Should be greate or equal to 1

cout << "Enter number of rows" << endl ;
   cin >> row ;

while (row < 1)
   {
         cout << "Error - number must be greater than or equal to 1. Try again"
              << endl ;
         cin >> row ;
   }

cout << "success" << endl ;

system("PAUSE");
    return 0;
}
Maybe you should declare row as a double.
Last edited on
Can anyone explain in simple terms why it is doing this

http://www.parashift.com/c++-faq-lite/input-output.html#faq-15.2

and is there a non-highly technical fix for this weakness?

http://www.parashift.com/c++-faq-lite/input-output.html#faq-15.3
#include <limits>
  while (row < 1)
   {
         cin.clear();

cin.ignore(std::numeric_limits<std::streamsize>::max(), '\n')
         cout << "Error - number must be greater than or equal to 1. Try again"
              << endl ;
         cin >> row ;
   }
Last edited on