Please help me figure out what I'm doing wrong here

I'm making my own programming language, I have some experience with that in Python and Java. But I tried doing it in C++ and now I have an issue with reading files. Someone please help me figure out why, the source code is on https://github.com/Axocudo/Axocudo.
Last edited on
That link gives 'Page not found' error 404.
I have an issue with reading files. Someone please help me figure out why
I checked out your code and built it, now what?

Is there a reason STRING is defined to be char*, rather than std::string?

I added warnings to the makefile and rebuilt, you have a lot of relevant warnings. You should look into that. Add these flags to your compile line: -Wall -Wextra -g.

15├>STRING getFileContents(const STRING filepath) {
16│     std::string line;
17│     std::string text;
18│     std::ifstream myfile (filepath);
19│
20│     if (myfile.is_open()) {
21│         while (std::getline(myfile, line)) {
22│             text += line + "\n";
23│         }
24│
25│         myfile.close();
26│     }
27│
28│     STRING c = const_cast<STRING>(text.c_str()); // convert std::string to char*
29│     return c;

This is the first function I stepped into. Knowing that STRING is char*, the compiler's tried to warn you about line 28, and you shut it up with that cast. But now you're left to deal with the problem it warned you about.

I suggest you document your project aims, and what some code might look like. Then you'll be in a position to get some help. At the moment, there's nothing I can do beyond what I've said here.

Also, it might be best to move the topic to General C++ Programming as this isn't Windows specific.
Last edited on
Is there a reason STRING is defined to be char*, rather than std::string?

Indeed there is, I plan to use this to allow mods to be made for my game, which is made using GameMaker Studio 2, which only supports char* and double as arguments and return values.