c++ trap

I'm a newbie to c++ but I have a background in python, but with that
Said, I have run into a bit of a snag with my toying around with c++.
Before I ask my question, I will show you my code first.
#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using std::cout;
using std::cin;
using std::endl;
using std::string;

int main(){

// Generic input
    int x;
    cin >> x;
    cout <<"\n";
    cout << x * 42;

// getline after generic input
    string y;
    getline(cin,y);
    cout << y;

return 0;
}

So when I run the code this way, it will perform the
Math operation, however, it will not continue with the
rest of the // getline after generic input code. Why is that?
Also if I wrap that code into a function and try to run it, it gives me the word
trap after the math operation, and again, why?

Thanks ahead for any explanation!!!
Last edited on
After cin >> x; put a line cin.ignore(1000,'\n');
Somebody will come along and explain at great length or just google it.
Last edited on
The problem is the use of the character '\n':

cin >> x;

leaves that character in the stream.

getline(cin,y);

will use by default '\n' to determine the end of the line. Due to the previous cin there is still a '\n' in the input stream and the getline(...) returns an empty string.

You can avoid this when writing:

cin >> x >> std::ws; // Note: std::ws removes '\n'
>> std::ws works as desired if the next input/output is via cin.

Unfortunately, it screws up the order of the input/output operations if (as here) the next input/output is via cout.

cin.ignore(1000,'\n); maintains the intended order.

Compare:
#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using std::ws;

int main()
{
   int x;
   cin >> x >> ws;
   cout << '\n';
   cout << x * 42;

string y;
   getline( cin, y );
   cout << y;
}
Help

420Help 

and

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

int main()
{
   int x;
   cin >> x;   cin.ignore( 1000, '\n' );
   cout << '\n';
   cout << x * 42;

string y;
   getline( cin, y );
   cout << y;
}