C++ programmer as second job

Hi guys,

I am an electrotechnical engineer and I am programming machines ( programmable logic controllers).

I had programmed at basic level on borland C. I have notions on C syntax, C++ classes.

At work I use sometimes, pointers, some structures that are similar with c++ classes, also I am familiar with data types, working with bytes so the C program
is somehow similar with machine programming language.

In the past I had started to learn making web sites with html,CSS, PHP, and I had realized my own online website but I had understood at that time that I have to achieve more knowledge and I realized that I can't keep up with both, my job and web design because there are going in two different ways.

Please help and guide me to enter in the IT world gradually, because from my point of view you can have more financial freedom in the IT field and fewer contextual social variables. I want to try with freelancing at the beginning, I think that could be a good starting.

But I had read over a C++ beginner book of BRIAN OVERLAND and I haven't find
any useful real application, just working with variables, constant, just console
variables, something approaching with something from real world was working with files.

Please help me guiding in with first steps that I had to make to start sustaining myself from C/C++ programming, because the most of internet tutorials
are at beginning level without any real application.

Thank you,
What platform do you want to work on?

For Windows the definite guide is the book by Charles Petzold which comes with a simple Notepad clone.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Programming-Windows-Developer-Reference-Charles-ebook/dp/B00JDMP71S/ref=la_B000APETXO_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1515404343&sr=1-5&refinements=p_82%3AB000APETXO

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Programming-Windows-95-Microsoft-programming/dp/1556156766/ref=la_B000APETXO_1_14?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1515404343&sr=1-14&refinements=p_82%3AB000APETXO