MTBF

Hey,
does anyone know much about Mean time between failure (MTBF) or reliability in general? I have to calculate an MTBF for a company I'm working for on placement and I'm struggling to get my teeth into it. I know what MTBF is and the basic ideas of it, so don't just direct me to a google search result for MTBF. I'm just wondering if anybody has any personal dealings with anything like this, and if they have any words of wisdom they could pass on to me.

Thanks,
Meerkat
What, you mean in software?
Do you mean that you are writing Quality Control Software to measure the performance of a comapany or it's employees? I have some second hand knowledge in this area, what are you stuck on?

The first thing to do is to establish\write down what counts as a failure, then you simply need to count and time stamp them in some kind of chart or graph that makes it look shiney and important.