}

add.cpp
extern string name;

void  s() {

name="jasmin";
}

Five errors;
Which errors ?
Are you #including <string> in add.cpp ?
I'm just a beginner but, shouldn't the other file be somehow included? Function s() is defined in other file as well. Sorry if I'm wrong, It's just my PHP heritage. :)
Last edited on
Next time, instead of saying how many errors you got, say what those errors were.

shouldn't the other file be somehow included?
No.

Function s() is defined in other file as well.
That will produce a linker error if the other function also takes the same parameters.
I am sorry, here is error list:

Error 2 error C2146: syntax error : missing ';' before identifier 'name' c:\documents and setting.........\add.cpp 3

Error 5 error C2440: '=' : cannot convert from 'const char [7]' to 'int' c:\documents and setting....\add.cpp 7

Error 1 error C3861: 's': identifier not found c:\documents and settin...\main.cpp 11

Error 3 error C4430: missing type specifier - int assumed. Note: C++ does not support default-int c:\documents and setting....\add.cpp 3

Error 4 error C4430: missing type specifier - int assumed. Note: C++ does not support default-int c:\documents and settings...\add.cpp 3

And also when I write function declaration for s(); in main.cpp Error number 1 disapear,
so here is main.cpp

string name;
void s ();
void main () 
{

s();
	cout<<name;
}

and also when I include <string> in add.cpp get those four errors.
Last edited on
1st error: I can't figure this one out. Did you modify the code since your first post?
2nd error: See 4.
3rd error: ---
4th error: You removed extern string name; from add.cpp, didn't you? Now the compiler has no idea what name is supposed to be. Since it cannot assume that it's any type, it fails.
5th error: No idea why there are two of these.
extern string name; is in add.cpp, I didnt remove it.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------