From Beginner to Expert

Pages: 12
Hey I just had a quick question to help me understand something greater.

I am still a beginner C++ programmer and I've used tools like DevC++ and Visual C++, and these tools are good, but I get the impression that they are mainly used by beginners, and have their limitations if one wants to make a larger programming project.

I am wondering what tools are more common for experts programming in C++. I know that Linux and its tools are probably the best answer, but I just wanted to see what you guys might say.

ty
I've used tools like DevC++ and Visual C++, and these tools are good, but I get the impression that they are mainly used by beginners

Where the heck did you get that impression?
I agree with what PanGalactic said.

IDEs (like DevC++, MSVS) are useful for beginners and experts alike. There are even IDEs for Linux.
EXPERT ENTERPRISE PROGRAMMERSTM churn out lines of .NET or Java by the truckload, actually.

I know that Linux and its tools are probably the best answer
Do you have a particular problem you know can only be solved by any of these (portable) tools, or are you just going by a confused notion you heard from a Linux preacher?
Last edited on
LOL Linux Preacher! Thats hilarious xD

No I dont know where I got these impressions. Anyway I dont have a problem, I was just wondering what tools pro's use. I suppose people in the industry code their own tools and then use those to build from. Maybe that was what I was after.

One more question: All code is essentially read one line at a time right to left, top to bottom, correct? I mean, it will hop around based on lines of code that tell it to execute other lines elsewhere, but then it returns back to where it previously was, and so on, correct?

I suppose people in the industry code their own tools and then use those to build from.
Yes, pros have nothing better to do than reinventing the wheel over and over and over again.