Pass array of pointers to a function

Pages: 12
OK this 'may' not sound a newbie question but I probably won't understand the answer as i'm new to all this. I've cut bits of of my (monopoly game) program to illustrate the point. I have a header file with a class defined called PlayerClass. In main() I dynamically allocate an array of pointers called pAllPlayerClass, this works great and I can access class members no problem, e.g. change the name of a player (m_strPlayerName ).

class PlayerClass{
        public:
        string m_strPlayerName;};

int main(){

PlayerClass* pAllPlayerClass = new PlayerClass[nPlayers];

int i=1;
    string strPlayerName;	
    cin>>strPlayerName;
    pAllPlayerClass[i].m_strPlayerName = strPlayerName;  //this works ok

} 

I have a pointer, also dynamically allocated, but not an array called pTileData which looks in another header file for game board information. This pointer behaves whilst inside main and when passed to other functions, such as BuyProperties

int BuyProperties(int tile, int i, PlayerClass pAllPlayerClass, TileData pTileData){
    group = pTileData.m_nGroup[tile];                                   //this works ok
    cout<<"Your name is "<<pAllPlayerClass[i].m_strPlayerName<<endl;	//why doesn't this work?
  }

{
  int main(){

TileData* pTileData = new TileData;

BuyProperties(tile, i, pAllPlayerClass, pTileData);	

}

However, when accessing pAllPlayerClass inside BuyProperties next to the "why doesn't this work?" comment I get a compile error:

>BuyProperties.cpp(11): error C2676: binary '[' : 'PlayerClass' does not define this operator or a conversion to a type acceptable to the predefined operator

Am I passing the pointer incorrectly as it seems to be OK with other pointers and values seem to change as expected in run-time? Or is there special 'handling' for an array of pointers? Is ther a better way of doing this?

Your collective experience is very much appreciated! Thank you in advance.