Simple if statement question?

Hi,

I am new to C++ and are teaching myself from a book and have come across this small and simple program(Below) and I understand 90% of it but just need someone to clarify the if statement.

Before, you read the code the program is: a program that searches an array of ten integers for duplicates values. Have the program display each duplicate found.

The code that I'm a little stuck on is: if(nums[i] == nums[j]) and the j for loop now I try to work it out for myself but after I go through the program myself once I get lost. I know this program is very simple but sometimes the book I am teaching myself from doesn't explain things very well.

Here is the whole program:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main() {

int nums[] = {1, 1, 2, 3, 4, 4, 4, 5, 6, 6 };

for(int i=0; i < 10; i++)
for(int j=i+1; j<10; j++)
	if(nums[i] == nums[j]) cout << "Duplicate: " << nums[i] << "\n";
return 0;
}

Thanks,

Luke.
Last edited on
Okay, let's focus on this:

int n[] = { 1, 2, 2, 3 };

for(int i = 0; i < 3; i++)
    for(int j = i + 1; j < 4; j++)
        if(n[i] == n[j])
            cout << n[i] << endl;

For clarity's sake, I have reduced the size of the array.

Let's picture this array as follows:

http://oi42.tinypic.com/29di7t2.jpg

Let i be red and j be blue. Then, this is the effect the loops achieve (highlighted squares denote a found duplicate):

http://oi40.tinypic.com/2qlev5i.jpg

Sorry for the links, but this forum apparently doesn't implement image tags.

Just for fun, notice that if n is the size of the array, then this algorithm performs a total of n * (n - 1) / 2 comparisons, thus rendering it an O(n2) algorithm.

There are better alternatives. For example, if loop through the array and use a hash table to both store its elements and check for duplicates, then we'd end up with an O(n) algorithm.
Last edited on