Parsing/Validation help

I am a c++ beginner and am trying to write a program that will take a roman numeral and convert it into an arabic number (arabic numbers are the format of a number we use today). Validation is obviously a key factor in converting a roman numeral. For example - IIII is not a valid input (IV would be correct). I have seen a lot of if/if else statement examples of this program but that is not a very "elegant" way of writing the program and would contain a massive amount of statements.

I would like to search my string to find an invalid input (ex: IIII, VV, MI). I have set up a bool function to return the results - but for some reason I am always returning a false value when something like just "I" is entered. Any suggestions?

Here is a snipet of my code:

class RomanNumeral
{

private:

string m_inputString;
    int m_value;
public:

// Constructor
    RomanNumeral(string input)
    {
        m_inputString = input;
    }

// Member function to make all the string uppercase letters
    void convertUp ()
    {
        // Convert to all upper case
        transform(m_inputString.begin(), m_inputString.end(), m_inputString.begin(), ::toupper);

}
  bool validate ()
    {

// Check for repeating numerals
        if (m_inputString.find_first_of("IIII") != string::npos)
            {
                cout << "invlaid" << endl;
                return false;
            }
        else if (m_inputString.find_first_of("VV") != string::npos)
            {
                cout << "invlaid" << endl;
                return false;
            }

// ...etc...

else 
            return true;

int main()
{
    string inputString;

cout << "Please input your roman numeral string to conver: " << endl;
    getline(cin, inputString);

// Constructor call
    RomanNumeral romanNumeral(inputString);

// Call converter
    romanNumeral.convertUp();

while (romanNumeral.validate() == true)
    {
        cout << "test" << endl;
    }

cin.get()
    return 0;
}