Help with first text based game

Hi,
I've just started a course in Computer Games Programming
So far I've been doing fine but I just need a bit more help adding characters and keeping track of them in the game.

My game is a text based space adventure game.

I would like to add a character to the game and give the option for the player to be able to choose what character they would like to be. I would also like to be able to keep track of that character, either via a visual add e.g. an ASCII map that stays on screen constantly or just have it running in the background.

Also, I have seen a lot of controversy on the forums about using the system clear screen. What should I use instead of it? as I want my screen to be cleared after each answer is given which gives a nice new slate for a new question.

Here is the code I have so far. It's been fiddled around with a lot so it may be wrong, feel free to correct me on any of it as I am new to this and need to learn.

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <string>

//a1 start
//b1 turrets //b2 dodge //b3 forward //b4 scream

int _tmain()
{
	using namespace std;

string myname;
	string ans1;

cout     << "\t\t\t*----------------------------*\n"
		 << "\t\t\t*    Space Game: Welcome     *\n"
		 << "\t\t\t*----------------------------*\n";

cout << "\n\nWhat's your name, co-pilot?\n\n";

cin >> myname;

cout << "\n\nWell, the pilot's dead and you need to take charge " << myname << ". Your ship is falling apart and both your turrets have been taken out. I doubt we could take another shot from the enemy. You've got a few choices, either you could send men to fix the (turrets) and try to fight the enemy, you could try using evasive piloting and (dodge) the enemies attack, you could just keep going (forward) and possibly suffer more damage to your ship, or run up and down the ship (scream)ing\n\n";

cin >> ans1;

if (ans1 == "turrets")
	{