Callback function as an argument --- where's its argument?

So I'm porting this C++ program to LabVIEW. I'm a total newbie on Callbacks, and it uses a lot of them (the program gets information from an haptics hardware).

In the original program, there is a function defined as
HDCallbackCode HDCALLBACK updateDeviceCallback(void *pUserData)
{   
...blah blah blah...
 return HD_CALLBACK_CONTINUE;    
}

The header defines

/* Return code for callbacks, determines whether the operation is finished
   and will unscheduled, or whether it will continue running. */
typedef unsigned int HDCallbackCode;
#define HD_CALLBACK_DONE     0
#define HD_CALLBACK_CONTINUE 1 

So I ported this function to LabVIEW telling it that the return type is an integer.

But then I need to call it as an argument for another function: in the main loop there is this instruction:

hUpdateHandle = hdScheduleAsynchronous(
        updateDeviceCallback, 0, HD_MAX_SCHEDULER_PRIORITY);

The API reference defines
HDSchedulerHandle
hdScheduleAsynchronous(HDSchedulerCallback pCallback,
void *pUserData,
HDushort nPriority)

Helios helped me to see that HDSchedulerCallback is a pointer. (http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/11576/)

So I don't get it.
1) hdScheduleAsynchronous() expects a HDSchedulerCallback, i.e. a pointer, but the main program is feeding an int function.
2) What's the argument of updateDeviceCallback()? It expects a pointer to void data, but where is it coming from?

I'm sure I'm missing some important concept about Callbacks. From this website I learned perfectly about pointers, but found nothing about callbacks. All I know now is what wikipedia taught me, which is not much. And I'm also getting some help from here:
http://brl.ee.washington.edu/Education/EE589/AIIT/NotesPack/OmniProgramming1.pdf

which turns out to work with the exact same program I'm trying to port to LabVIEW.

but the main program is feeding an int function.

I don't know what you mean by that.