How to Create a Tic-Tat-Toe Game

Im currently a college student, Im majoring in Computer Science. My professor request us to make a program in C++. So my idea was to make a Tic-Tat-Toe game, but I want it to taunt the player. If its a tie with the computer it say etc, if the player wins the computer says etc, and so on. What do I need to learn to make a Tic-Tat-Toe game from scratch, without copying someone else code. I broke up what I want the Tic-Tat-Toe game to do.

1. You can play with the computer or player.
2. The computer will organize you, when you type your name into the program.
3.The game will reset if its a tie or player/computer/player 2 wins.

Thank You.

My first Tic-Tac-Toe game in C++, i made it using:

-arrays.
-references or pointers(to pass certain crap through a function for efficiency, such as the Tic-Tac-Toe board, so that the compiler wouldn't have to copy it every time someone make a move)
-annnd lastly i used vectors from the STL.

so basically i used a 2 dimensional array of ints which represents all eight ways to get three in a row and win the game, looked something like this:

const int WINNING_ROWS[8][3] = { {0, 1, 2},
                                     {3, 4, 5},
                                     {6, 7, 8},
                                     {0, 3, 6},
                                     {1, 4, 7},
                                     {2, 5, 8},
                                     {0, 4, 8},
                                     {2, 4, 6} };

and i used a for loop to loop through each possible ways a player can win, if the player has 3 in a row, then we have a winner.
if there's no more empty squares on the board, then it's a tie.
if neither player has won and the game isn't a tie, then there's no winner.