Executable stopped working

I am new to C++ programming and have a final project due tomorrow (Monday 12/9/13). This code should take a dollar amount entered and convert that into coins. I have most of this written and I get an error that the .exe has stopped working and I have no idea why. HELP!!

#include <iostream>
using std::cin;
using std::cout;
using std::fixed;
using std::endl;
#include <iomanip> // parameterized stream manipulators
using std::setprecision; // set numeric output precision

void ConvertToCoins(double);

int main ( )
{
double amount;
while(true)
{
// My added code to request the user to enter the dollar amount to convert

cout << "Enter the dollar amount you wish to convert to coins :\n";
// used to request user input of dollar amount

if(amount < 0) break;
ConvertToCoins(amount);
}
return 0;
}
void ConvertToCoins (double amt)
{
static int quarters = 0;
static int dimes = 0;
static int nickles = 0;
static int pennies = 0;

if(amt >= .25)
{
quarters++;
ConvertToCoins(amt - .25);
}
else if(amt >= .10)
{

//Continue checking to see if we have enough money left over to convert to smaller coins.

dimes++;
ConvertToCoins(amt - .10);
}
if(amt >= .05)
{
nickles++;
ConvertToCoins(amt - .05);
}

else if(amt >= .01)
{
pennies++;
ConvertToCoins(amt - .01);

}

cout<<"Coin TOTAL"<<endl;
cout << "----------------" <<endl;
cout << "Quarters=" << quarters << "$" << (quarters * .25) <<endl;
cout << "Dimes=" << dimes << "$" << (dimes * .10 )<<endl;
cout << "Nickles=" << nickles << "$" << (nickles * .05) <<endl;
cout << "Pennies=" <<pennies << "$" <<( pennies * .01) <<endl;
cout << "----------------" <<endl;
cout << "TOTAL COINS=" << (quarters + dimes + nickles + pennies) <<endl;
}

@CMWest74:
Here are my 2 cents:

1. Compile your code with warnings on:
g++ -Wall main.cpp -o main

2. "amount" is used but not initialized on line 20. which means that you should call cin before you try to use this variable.
cin >> amount;