Should I learn C++ as a first language?

I was wondering if I should learn C++ as my first language. I'm a linux user so programming would be very important for a person like me. I tried learning Java a couple months ago, but I was quickly disgusted at it because of its inability to be a serious language. I want to learn C++ or C, but I'm not sure which one to choose. I started learning the beginning's of each language(basic syntax, I/O, and data types), I found C to have much shorter syntax than C++ when it came to small programs, but found C++ much more efficient when it came to longer programs. The reason I want to learn a programming language is to maybe make a office programs, desktop Environments, and maybe cli shells. So what do you guys think.
If you want to make office programs and shells, then learning both C++ and C would seem sensible. I wouldn't listen to anyone who says learning it as a first language is too hard or whatever.

And Java is a serious language!
C++ is C with a ton of extended features and libraries. If you're choosing between one of the two choose C++ because they're exactly the same language. That is, you can use old deprecated C functions in a C++ program if you really wanted to (although not necessarily the other way around).
Much like a square is a rectangle but a rectangle isn't necessarily a square.

C++ was my first language, and I think it turned out pretty well.
Also, I heard that C is used for system drivers and low level things, but can't C++ do it even better?
Like I said, they're essentially one in the same. You can use C++ techniques in low level things like system drivers if you want to. It's not really a question of doing it "better," rather, which one you prefer and which of several techniques are easier/more suitable to accomplish the same task.
What about libraries? Which one has more?

And another question: what about the d programming language? Is it better than c++?