The C++ Language Tutorial

Hi, I'm very new to the C++ Language, started on the C++ Language Tutorial, not having too much trouble absorbing the information. I was wondering, how comprehensive is the tutorial? If the language was a land, how much ground will I have covered when I've finished it? And this; Where should I go from there if I'm most interested on getting started in learning about programming AI or games? Any advice is very much appreciated.
Last edited on
If the language was a land, how much ground will I have covered when I've finished it?
I'd say covering the first 40% takes less than 1% of the time to cover 100%. You can use C++ for years and still learn something new every day. And that doesn't include changes to the standard.

AI
Don't get me started.

I'm most interested on getting started in learning about programming [...] games?
What kind of games? 2D games don't require much more than general programming. 3D game programming is a completely different matter. Just to give you an idea, there are quite a few books on the subject of 3D rendering.
Last edited on
All sounds....... fun. After highschool, I plan on doing whatever I have to do to get a permanent job dealing with AI. I make decent grades (94<), hopefully I'll be able get into a good school. To be specific, programming AI for games.
Last edited on
If you are able to put together a 2D game without ANY problems, and understand the use of classes for object orientated coding in all 3 directions can you start thinking about making a simple 3D game. Pointers, structures and classes MAY have been a little confusing when you started with it. In 3D it is WAY confusing. It is like traveling to space versus traveling by sea. Completely different. Helios probably has more experience coding AI, but through what I have read about 3D and AI, it is hard.