Iterator basic doubt

Hello, I'm new at C++ andI cannot understand some things of this function. My questions are:

1. In the "for" structure, which is just at the end of the function:
1.1. How can you iterate with a string? For me it makes no sense...
1.2. why is the value of the boolean find assigned to an iterator? You assign "d" true or false?
1.3. What does AllNames.begin()? Does it refer to the first name ("(Ni)")that appears in the AllNames array defined previously?

I would appreciate a lot your help,

Ramon
  vector<double> GetDiffusivities(double T, Cantera::thermo_t &Phase)
{
    /*Parameters definition*/
    /*Nickel surface*/
    double EHNi  (14.65e6), ENi         (93.2e6);       /*J/kmol*/
    //double ECONi (28.87e6), ECO2Ni      (28.87e6);      /*Zhu et al.*/
    double ECONi (11.30e7), ECO2Ni      (11.30e7);      /*Hanna et al*/

double DHNi  (2.5e-7*exp(-EHNi/(Cantera::GasConstant*T)));
    double DNi   (1.4e-6*exp(-ENi/(Cantera::GasConstant*T)));

double DCONi (1.2e-9*exp(-ECONi/(Cantera::GasConstant*T)));
    double DCO2Ni(1.2e-9*exp(-ECO2Ni/(Cantera::GasConstant*T)));
    /*YSZ surface*/
    double EOX(49e6);                                   /*J/kmol*/

double DOX   (5.846e-15*exp(-EOX/(Cantera::GasConstant*T)));
    double DCOX  (1.9e-11);
    double DZr   (5e-8);
    double DHZr  (5e-8);

vector<double> Diffusivities(Phase.nSpecies(),0.0);
    vector<string> AllNames
    {   "(Ni)","H(Ni)","O(Ni)","O'(Ni)","OH(Ni)","H2O(Ni)",
        "CO(Ni)","CO2(Ni)",
        "(X)","O(X)","O'(X)","O''(X)","OH'(X)",
        "CO(X)","(Zr)","H'(Zr)","OH'(Zr)"};
    vector<double> AllDiffusivities
    {   DNi, DHNi, DNi, DNi, DNi, DNi,
        DCONi, DCO2Ni,
        DOX, DOX, DOX, DOX, DOX, DOX,
        DCOX, DZr, DHZr, DZr};

bool find(false);
    unsigned int s(0), n(0);
    for(s=0; s < Phase.nSpecies(); s++)
    {
        std::vector<string>::iterator D = std::find(AllNames.begin(), AllNames.end(), Phase.speciesName(s));