Game programming curiosity :o

Hey guys! I started programming like 5 days ago (I'm turning 15 in a month) and I wanted to work as a video game programmer, but I had a curiosity: I bought a book for c++ and I'm reading it a lot lately and self teaching myself c++. (even though I don't understand so many things because let's face it without someone that's alive to make you understand it's quite hard alone :c)
But yeah, My goal for now is to make a simple 2D game, something like Pickin Sticks or you know even pong, but I noticed that every single time I try and read tutorials and stuff, all I'm doing is copying the code they write and run the program. I don't get that PROUD feeling if you know what I mean, because it feels like I'm copying and accomplishing nothing. I try to read all the code and the explanations, but stuff like if(!variable) and int *myvariable I don't understand well. Like I know &variable assigns a variable the address where it's located in and *variable shows us the value of that address, but Idk what the (!variable) does. I've tried looking it up to no avail. Also I can't apply all of this stuff I'm looking up like pointers, I try to understand them, it seems like I do, but when I'm there trying to make a simple program either it starts fine but doesn't do what I want it to because God knows why or I can't even apply a code to what I want my program to do, like I don't even know what to do. It's like being a surgeon that knows what to do but when he's in front of a patient he doesn't know how to proceed. What am I doing wrong? Is it my lack of knowledge? Do I need more time? Is it correct to just copy what the tutorial tells me and time will help me understand and remember everything? It's so frustrating! Please help me someone. Many thanks for your ridiculous patience. (Ps. I have a book that's like 350 pages long, when I'm done with it will I have learned all of c++?)