Why is i=i++ undefined behaviour?

Since I'm a beginner this might be a naive question. But doesn't post increment operator means that the value is used first and then incremented. That is shouldn't the code

i = i++

get evaluated to
i = i;
i = i+1;

So why is it considered illegal?
Last edited on
Let say i is equals to 5.
On high level there can be two possibilities:
1)
i is evaluated (5 is stored as result)
i is incremented (i is now 6)
i is assigned stored value (i is now 5)
2)
i is evaluated (5 is stored as result)
i is assigned stored value (i is now 5)
i is incremented (i is now 6)

If we take into account actual processor workings, that i can be not only int but any type with complex inrement operator, we will find out that we cannot really know what i can be.

C++ Standard does not standartise any behavior, giving compiler ability to generate efficient code (say by caching values). In some languages order is standartised (JAVA) in some not.

TL;DR: standard says so.
closed account (z05DSL3A)
it is not necessarily evaluated to:
i = i;
i = i+1;

in the line i = i++; you evaluate i, increment i (which involves assigning to i), and finally there is another assignment to i. The order of the increment and assignment is not set out in the standard, so different compilers are free to do what they want, hence the undefined behaviour.
I also recommend to read this 3 part article to know why undefined behavior exist, how compilers threat it and why you should never rely on it (read all 3 parts):
http://blog.llvm.org/2011/05/what-every-c-programmer-should-know.html
another stab at it

tdk93 wrote:
doesn't post increment operator means that the value is used first and then incremented