C++ newbie

I'm new to C++(no duh right?). Just wondering if there's a way to run the same code multiple times but have it act differently on each run around?

For instance:

if((y==N)||(y==n))
{
cout << "This is correct!" << '\n';
cout << "This is not correct! << '\n';
} 

So is there a way to make only the first cout display the first run around but make only the second cout display in the second run. I'd imagine it would involve using a for loop but I just need to know the method.

Also I use codeblocks but I've noticed that in tutorials using M$ visual studio that things seem to be done slightly different despite being the same programing language. Like some bits of code are needed that to do certain things like keep the console window open that codeblocks can do without the extra code. Is that normal? Should I just ignore that and carry on?
Last edited on
In programming, mostly rely on flow-control.
Why you want the same code runs different output? It's none of my sense can imagine.

> "make only the first cout display the first run around but make only the second cout display in the second run"
Is that mean you'll close program and re-run it for another result?
If it's,maybe you should use something(on OS or File system, not only your program) to remember what's your program did in last running.
Btw, you still have to use a condition(if statement) in your program.
Last edited on
You could put the code in a loop, as you said, and then have a variable that change value from the first iteration to the next and then have an if statement testing this variable to decide which message to display.
Like some bits of code are needed that to do certain things like keep the console window open that codeblocks can do without the extra code. Is that normal? Should I just ignore that and carry on?