cin question

Hi, I just learned about looping in c++. I came across two questions that I was unable to answer. I need help understanding the idea.

1) Is the following statement valid? If not, why not? If so, what does it do?

int x = (1,024);

What about the following?

int y;
y = 1,024;

2) How does cin >> ch differ from cin.get(ch) and ch = cin.get() in how it views input?

Last edited on
Normally, you don't have a , in numbers. Otherwise I don't see anything invalid in your first question.

Parentheses are used to change the order of operations. Wrapping a number in them won't do anything.

As for y, it will first allocate memory for y, and it will be filled with some garbage value, and then you assign a value to it. But a compiler will probably optimise that.

As for 2, I'm not that experienced with input streams yet, sorry.
Last edited on
int x = (1,024);
This is horrible.
It's first assigning 1 to y, and then it's assigning octal 024 to y i.e. decimal 20.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comma_operator

OP, you could of course try and compile this yourself.
Last edited on
It's first assigning 1 to y, and then it's assigning octal 024 to y i.e. decimal 20.
Not quite. Only one assignment is made.
ah yes:
In the C and C++ programming languages, the comma operator (represented by the token ,) is a binary operator that evaluates its first operand and discards the result, and then evaluates the second operand and returns this value (and type).

it evaluates both, but only returns the last.

Apologies.
so, y just accepts 024 as input? (024 hexadecimal?)

what about the cin question?
1) Is the following statement valid? If not, why not? If so, what does it do?
int x = (1,024);

Functionally equivalent to: int x = 024;

What about the following?
int y;
y = 1,024;

Functionally equivalent to: y = 1;

2) How does cin >> ch differ from cin.get(ch) and ch = cin.get() in how it views input?