Struggling with Accelerated C++

Hey guys I'm 21 old, Well I have been studying Accelerated C++ for the past 1~2 months and I'm really having a hard time regarding the exercises from the book. The difficulty started at chapter 4 (though I really understand what the author explains) but I can't think straight on doing the exercises!

I've been skipping the exercises from chapter 4 to 10 now, and what I really have to say is that (by looking the tutorials here, c++ primer 5th, ppp 2nd edition, etc) I understand the theory, explanation, but I can't understand what the author asks for you to do nor do I know what to do with the things I've learned in that chapter (I don't know to organize my thoughts into code, idk).

But by the time passed I took a time and look all over some exercises (codes) from the very early previous chapter (3, 4, 5) that I couldn't do but now I understand. I don't know if I'm reading too fast or am not too focused, but how can I understand the theory but I'm not able to do such exercises?

I'll revise the book the time I finish it and try the exercises along the way.
I'm also studying Lua, and JavaScript(codeacademy) because I noticed that I can study all these and not get confused.

So, do you guys suggest I continue studying C++ though Accelerted C++ as my main book, even though I can't work my way through any of the exercises? Any suggestions is appreciated, thanks.

By the way, I've never programmed before (only vaguely studied years ago through the reference here til functions), and so for me it is easier to pick up C++ than others, and also its my favorite language :D. My bad for my English.

Last edited on