Nodes

So I want to create a two-dimensional array full of nodes as a map to be navigated through. I'm new to nodes and unsure of how to do this, although I have the general idea. Can someone tell me if i'm on the right track, and if not, point me in a better direction? Thanks.

Also, How would I link the directions to another place in the array?

struct Area{
    string area_description;
    void interaction();
    Area* North;
    Area* East;
    Area* South;
    Area* West;
};
const int boundary = 10;
Area game_map[Boundary][Boundary];
If you have access to the whole map, your nodes do not need to know about the existence of their neighbors.
Well, my goal is to have a large two dimensional array for the map, but of course you won't be able to traverse in every direction in every tile. Perhaps instead of a two-dimensional array of nodes, just have the nodes, and connect them as needed, this will avoid large unused portions of a map array. I'm just unsure how to implement what is in my head, any tips?
bump :)
:\
closed account (D80DSL3A)
I've been giving this some thought, but haven't wanted to post just yet. I'm doing so due to your continued bumps.
Maybe offer more than just bump:) when bumping? Any further or clarifying thoughts?

A couple of difficulties I see right away if your intent is to dynamically allocate areas as the map is expanded during play.

1) Keeping track of ownership for the purpose of proper cleanup (deletion) of areas.
Up to 4 areas would possess a pointer to any given area. Shared pointers may work well here, though I'm not yet practiced in using them, so I couldn't advise on implementation. I'd either learn to use them or use a "master" vector<Area*> to store one copy of a pointer to each allocated Area. This would permit easy cleanup, but there wouldn't be any info re. relative positions of the allocated Areas.