Entering element values into array withing using cin or a file

Im really new to c++ so apologies if this is a stupid question.

Is there a way to assign random number values to an array WITHOUT using the cin statement or simply reading from a file?

For example:

I have the array Array[9];

I want to assign it the following random integer values: {-32, 23, 8, 345, 23, 0, 3, 45, -4, 2].

How would I go about doing that without using cin (which would really be inefficient if I increased the index to lets say, 10,000) or reading from a file?

Thank you.

srand(time(0));

int arr[9];

for (int i = 0; i < 9; i++)
	{
		arr[i] = rand();
	}

This fills the array between number 0 and 32 thousand something. If you want to limit it, do this.

arr[i] = rand() % 100 + 1 ; // Now its between 1-100.

oh, and dont forget #include <time.h>

And for next time.
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=c%2B%2B+fill+array+with+random+numbers

Would have saved us both time :)
Last edited on
To be fair, it's a forum dedicated to beginner's C++; so it's going to be rare that a novice C++ programmer asks something that can't already be found by doing a Google Search or reading the Cplusplus.com tutorials, like specifically here: http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cstdlib/rand/

I think the reason people ask questions in a forum is to have an open conversation with a variety of people who can give them a multitude of different perspectives and paths to answer their question. For instance, perhaps I suggest they use the <random> C++ library, and the OP had no idea about its existence. By asking in a forum, they have given me the opportunity to share with them a potential piece of information they didn't even know existed. It also gives the OP a space in which to reply should they run into any issues with advice they've learned and to ask follow up questions. The point being that Google and this forum serve two entirely different purposes to someone who is looking to learn interactively.