PLEASE NEED HELP: Converting 2d array into a 1d array

Pages: 12
Create a 2D array with 20 rows and 20 columns. Populate the array row-by-row with random real numbers (not integers) that range in value from 0 to 100. Copy the diagonal elements of the 2D array into a 1D array.

My professor also gave this information: In your main function, you simply create a for loop where A[i] = B[i][i]. The diagonal elements are B[0][0], B[1][1], B[2][2], etc. B[0][0] gets copied to A[0], B[1][1] to A[1], and so on.

But I don't know how to incorporate this into my program, I'm quite new to this.
Also I have not yet learned the memcpy function for those who have asked to use that before so I'm assuming I cant use that. I would really appreciate it if you can right the answer in code rather than in words because that would help me understand a lot better. Thank you.

My program thus far:
//Ive just been able to setup the the 20x20 multidimensional array with random //real numbers 0-100. Someone please help me incorporate the information above.
#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <ctime>
#include <cmath>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
double array[20][20];
srand(time(0));
for (int i=0;i<20;i++)
{
for (int j=0;j<20;j++)
{
array[i][j]=(rand()%100);
cout<<array[i][j]<<" ";
}
cout<<endl;

}
Last edited on
This topic is a continuation of http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/161840/

Your assignment requires you to populate the array with random real numbers, not integers. It is not possible to do this with rand(), so don't use it. Instead, use the random generators in the <random> header:
http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/random/
http://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/header/random
http://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/numeric/random/uniform_real_distribution#Example

You won't need to use memcpy for this assignment. In fact, you won't need to use any C for this assignment - you can do this entirely in C++.
Last edited on